A small gift

I have a student this semester, Diane, who is a flight attendant. Every weekend, she’s off to some cool European city with her husband, a pilot. Up until now, she’s been bringing me little gifts of beer from each trip. She drops 60 cents in Germany, and then that week I get to taste a new variety of ale or lager. Very, very cool!

This weekend, it was off to Rome, and she brought me back a piece of paper. This piece of paper had something written on it, though, something she thought I would appreciate because of my environmental concerns:

gore

Pretty cool, eh? Despite his being a politician, I have a lot of respect for Gore for bringing the issue of climate change into the national consciousness. Unfortunately, because he’s a Democrat and a climate activist, the Republican response has been anti-Gore, and thus anti-climate science and anti-climate action. Hopefully Gore’s consciousness-raising outweighs the politicization of the issue he has wrought by advocating on its behalf.

Either way, the autograph is a great gift. Thanks, Diane!

(Did I mention she brought me a bottle of beer, too?)

3 Responses

  1. This is really cool. The best gift I ever got was a pen. And Gore has gotten a pretty bad rap because he is a politcian but that is also why so many people have listened to him. I guess you have to take the good with the bad. And I agree he has done a terrific job of just making people more aware about the environmental issues out there.

  2. Pretty freakin’ cool, man!

  3. Excellent! That’s one to put on the wall.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

